The Way I See It

There is a lot of opportunity to be angry, bitter, annoyed, frustrated, doubtful, and so on in this world. There have been moments on this earth that I am appalled ever happened in the first place. Times where I truly lost my faith in humanity. Historic periods of time where my jaw will never cease to drop when I hear of the stories of hatred and betrayal.

Something I have been realizing lately is how important it is to live in the moment. Drink each second in. Don’t burry yourself in regrets or “wish I had”. But most importantly, at least to me, don’t take the people in your life for granted. Not all people are good, but not all people are bad. Typically we surround ourselves with the people we hold most dear. Spouses, children, parents, siblings, relatives, friends, etc. And all too often we take moments together with them for granted. There is no guarantee how long each of those moments together will last, so make the most of each

I think I’m finally starting to see why relationships are so critical for human life. They bridge the gap between hope and despair. When we see or hear of horrible happenings around the world present or past, we withdraw. At least, I do. But I think a healthy dose of cuddling up next to the one you love, or calling that family member you’ve been meaning to call, or texting a friend in need is a better remedy for fear of this unknown world. Take in each moment. Breathe in each day. Embrace the people you love and rely on them for healing. From the beginning of time people have needed to rely on each other. That’s why Adam needed Eve. It was not good for man to be alone.

We all need each other. In such a selfish world it’s hard to see how much we really need each other to continue on. Be the hope in someone else’s life, and maybe someone will try to be yours.

IMG_3049

Leave a Reply

