Because of Him

For some reason after the thanksgiving holiday is when being thankful really kicks in. A little late some may say, but I think it is at the perfect time.

Around my little students today I heard them talk about their thanksgiving holiday, some were full from their eats and others said “my mom forgot” or “I went to a party instead”.

I started to think of my life and how blessed I am, and what a blessing it is to teach these little ones everyday.

How truly selfish of me to think otherwise when I have so much, and at six years old they have so little. How unkind of me to lose my patience with the little children struggling to read, to add and subtract.

And then I started to think how lately, I have been wrapped up in “I want I want I want” instead of how can I love more or serve more? Or how can I draw closer to Him? The one who gave His all for me to learn compassion, offer relief, and return to Him again. There is so much to be distracted by each day. I’m tired of feeling distracted from the reason and meaning of love and life. It’s actually draining to be so forgetful and wrapped up in the worldly bustle and race of life.

So tonight as I lay here next to my sleeping husband I can’t help but feel the blessings of His infinite love. And I can’t help but feel pulled to share it.

I’ve been weepy ever since my husband and I had our family night about Christmas and decorated the tree. It’s like a swift awakening in me where I have finally started to remember the reason why we go through each day, interact, struggle, move forward even when we feel we can’t. And I can’t help but think…

It’s because of Him.

IMG_2611.JPG

“For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.”

John 3:16

Leave a Reply

