Guest Blogger: Consistent Happiness

This is my dear friend Josie.

10733517_10150472485694999_1736889206_n

We met at college when we both taught a toddler lab, while pursuing our special education degrees. We sang at our college graduation together which you can watch here. Josie and I had the privilege of living together during our student teaching after we graduated from college. We got married only 3 months apart, and are both teachers now. Josie has been an incredible friend and influence. We were instant friends. She taught me compassion and how to truly serve. Not serve because you must, serve because you can. We are all capable of service. Josie is the epitome of service. Here is how Josie chooses to be consistently happy:

I’ve realized so many times in my life that there a few things in life that are constant. I’ve realized this even more spending my days in Kindergarten with a group of 5 year olds-literally, different and changing each and every day. I feel comfortable when things are constant and I’ve found that it’s easier to be happy when things are constant-or that’s what I used to think. In reality, I have found those few things that are constant to help me stay focused on happiness in an ever-changing, sometimes even stressful life we live here on earth.

1. When I take time to serve, I am blessed with happiness. I have found that quiet, small acts of service bring me great joy. I love making deliveries, leaving small notes in secret places and occasionally ordering flowers over the phone

2. No matter what, I am a Daughter of God and I am loved. I know that I am of great worth and that realization comes from relying on him throughout everyday. My husband and I frequently go to the temple to find peace and to ultimately find Heavenly Father there. I feel a type of happiness there similar to the happiness I feel when I pray.

3. “I am a strong, confident woman.” This is been the words I whisper to myself when I need to do something scary or hard. These are the words I say in the mirror before I go to work. And when I say them, I feel happy. What a blessing it is when we can love ourselves, be comfortable in our own skin and do all we can to build up our spirits so we can do all we are intended to do. It’s beautiful!

“When you find yourselves a little gloomy, look around you and find somebody that is in a worse plight than yourself; go to him and find out what the trouble is, then try to remove it with the wisdom which the Lord bestows upon you; and the first thing you know, your gloom is gone, you feel light, the Spirit of the Lord is upon you, and everything seems illuminated.” -Lorenzo Snow

Oh! And P.S. Thank you notes! Always have a collection of the most beautiful thank you cards ready at a moment’s notice. And stamps. Pretty stamps.

Leave a Reply

