Featuring Eleanor

When I was in 5th grade we had to do projects on people we admired. We had to research them, evaluate their lives, and in essence become them. I have often thought to learn something is to become it for a time. The same goes for people, when you study and learn of them, your mind can become inspired to become more like them, to take on their positive traits. The person I chose for my project was Eleanor Roosevelt. What a woman. When I consider the Happiness Project, I want to feature people who have moved on from this life, as well as people still living it. I want to feature people or things that have inspired me. People who have given me something to take into my own life and my own happiness journey.

Eleanor Roosevelt was a woman who held the title of First Lady for 4 terms in the White House. Despite having a complicated marriage, Eleanor did many things for human rights and for herself. I remember studying Eleanor at the young age of 11 and looking up to her. Now as I study her again, in the sense of happiness, I see that she did have happiness. Aside from a troubled personal life Eleanor did the things she thought was right. She stood up for herself and for others. She created her own happy. In my opinion that is the most powerful thing you can do. Create your own sense of self worth and happiness.

When you find your own happy you set yourself free. You set yourself up for success. You don’t have to be a major political figure, an actress, a singer, or superstart athlete. Just be you. Be what makes you happy. Do what makes you happy. Find what makes you happy. Don’t become lost in the act of pleasing other people that you forget to please yourself. The start of happiness begins with finding what makes you happy and then doing it. 

“No one can make you feel inferior without your consent” -Eleanor Roosevelt

Leave a Reply

